North Korea satire

Satire is usually used in political contexts, and involves the use of irony, exaggeration or ridicule as a form of criticism regarding a certain figure or issue.

There is much satire directed towards the Kim regime, making fun of the former and present leaders, their fashion, fetishes, personality and appearance. The reason why satire is commonly used and accepted is because while it is a form of mockery, there is some truth to the statement or idea that is presented.

One rather viral satirical video of the Kim regime, or more specifically of former leader Kim Jong-il is by Team America in 2004 titled “I’m so Ronery (Lonely)”. It depicts the former leader voicing out his frustration in a song, about how the rest of the world are not in agreement to the way he does things, resulting in him being isolated (and ignored).

Note: In the video, Kim Jong-il is depicted as having difficulty pronouncing the ‘L’ syllable, or speaking with a lisp, replacing all the words with the ‘L’ syllable to the ‘R’ syllable instead.

An excerpt of the lyrics:

I’m So Ronery
So ronery
So ronery and sadry arone
There’s no one
Just me onry
Sitting on my rittle throne
I work rearry hard and make up great prans
But nobody ristens, no one understands
Seems like no one takes me serirousry
And so I’m ronery
A rittle ronery
Poor rittle me
There’s nobody
I can rerate to
Feel rike a bird in a cage
It’s kinda sihry
But not rearry
Because it’s fihring my body with rage
I’m the smartest most crever most physicarry fit
But nobody else seems to rearize it
When I change the world maybe they’ll notice me
But until then I’rr just be ronery
Rittle ronery, poor rittle me
I’m so ronery

_________________________________________

There have been many other North Korean satirical acts, and consequently, but not surprisingly, it has lead to a move by the current North Korean leader Kim Jong-un banning North Koreans from using satire or sarcasm in their everyday conversations

Certain banned phrases include, “A fool who cannot see the outside world”, and “This is all America’s fault” – a jibe that has come about as a result of the North Korean authorities constantly blaming the U.S. for their problems.

Issues of warning have been given out, warning citizens that satire directed toward the regime or the use of ironic statements ‘will not be forgiven’ and will be seen as ‘hostile actions’.

 

 

References:

http://www.foxnews.com/world/2016/09/08/north-korean-dictator-kim-jong-un-bans-sarcasm.html

Published by

seoulmusingsblog

Currently living and pursuing my undergraduate studies in South Korea.

Leave a Reply

